Menu Close


The Association of Medical Students’ University of Lagos (AMSUL) celebrated the commissioning of its newly renovated secretariat on Friday, June 28, 2024, at the College of Medicine, Idiaraba. The initiative was sponsored by a ’83 Alumnus of the College of Medicine, University of Lagos, Chief Dr. Emi Membere-Otaji OFR through his foundation, Dr. EMI MEMBERE-OTAJI FOUNDATION.

The sponsor, accompanied by his associates and some members of the ’83 Alumni, including Dr. Asiwaju Michael Olawale-Cole, CFR; Dr. Moshe Abiodun, among others, shared his joy in giving back to his alma mater. He stated that the initiative, a result of years of discussions between him and the AMSUL President, had finally come to fruition. He described the privilege of returning to his alma mater as a joyful experience and expressed his desire to continue supporting the College and acknowledged the presence of several guest and alumni who have also been supportive of the College of Medicine, University of Lagos.

He highlighted some of his foundation’s previous support efforts, including assisting indigent students and refurbishing a library in his hometown, Port Harcourt, Rivers State.

The AMSUL president, Mr. Dozie Obianyor expressed deep gratitude to the sponsor for his efforts and support towards the student body and encouraged the students to make good use of the Secretariat to better aid their academic pursuits

The Deputy Provost, Professor Daniel Odebiyi, on behalf of the provost, Professor D.A. Oke FAMedS, also conveyed his appreciation to Chief Dr. Emi Membere-Otaji for his generosity to the student body and the College of Medicine, University of Lagos, at large and therefore, solicited for further support.

Also, during the ceremony, scholarships were awarded to three CMUL students based on their academic performance and conduct by the ’78-’83 Alumni while the AMSUL President, Dozie Obianyor, on behalf of the students, presented an award of excellence to the donor, who was named a patron of AMSUL.

Present at the ceremony were the College secretary, Dr. Olayinka Obafemi-moses, Director of finance, Dr. Simeon Akinade, Director of Engineering services, Engr. Olatunbosun Oloyede, as well as members of staff and students.