Opening Hours : Monday To Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4.00 p.m.


On Wednesday, 22nd of January 2020, the College of Medicine University of Lagos hosted the Valedictory Symposium for Professor Elizabeth Obalowu Sote at the Old Great Hall. The Department of Child Dental Health of the Faculty of Dental Sciences organised the event to celebrate the erudite scholar and Icon of Paediatric Dentistry. The first female Professor of Dentistry in Nigeria and Paediatric Dentistry both in Nigeria and West Africa. 

The Chief Host, the Provost of the College, Professor F.E.A. Lesi was full of praise and admiration for the renowned Professor of Paediatric Dentistry. He on behalf of the Management, Staff and Students of the College of Medicine, University of Lagos congratulated the Icon on her 70th birthday and retirement from active service of the College of Medicine, University of Lagos. 

The Vice Chancellor of the Lagos State University, Professor Olanrewaju Fagbohun, SAN who was ably represented by the Provost of the Lagos State University College of Medicine (LASUCOM), Professor Abiodun Adewuya commended the valedictorian on her 70th birthday and contributions to the Health Sector and wished her a happy retirement. Also, the Chief Medical Director of Lagos University Teaching Hospital, Prof. Chris Bode, who was ably represented by Professor Wasiu Adeyemo (Chairman, Medical Advisory Committee, LUTH) poured encomiums on Professor E.O. Sote and wished her fulfilment in retirement.

The Guest lecturer, Professor Obafunke Denloye who is the Deputy Provost of the College of Medicine University of Ibadan, delivered a motivating lecture titled: “Tell-Show-Do of Mentoring” and drew from her personal experiences with the valedictorian to illustrate the key points in her lecture.

Also present at the event were Professor S.R.A Akinbo (Deputy Provost), Mr. O.A. Obafemi-Moses, FNIM (College Secretary), Mr. S. A. Akinade (Director of Finance), Engineer N.I. Sobande (Director of Engineering Services), Mrs. O.M. Bolarinwa (Acting Medical Librarian), Professor O. A. Magbagbeola (Dean, Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences), Professor Sofola (Dean, Faculty of Dental Sciences), Professor O. O. Sanu (Head, Department of Child Dental Health), Professor A. A. Oremosu and Dr. Yetunde Oludare anchored the event.