Opening Hours : Mondays To Fridays 8:00 a.m. to 4.00 p.m.


The Inauguration and Induction Ceremony of Honorary, Emeritus and Foundation Fellows of the Academy of Medicine Specialties of Nigeria under the Chairman Board of Trustees, The Olor’ogun (Dr.) Sonny F. Kuku, OFR, FAS,FAMeds and The President of the Academy, Professor Oladapo A. Ashiru, OFR, FAMeds held on Thursday, 29th July, 2021.The Academy of Medicine Specialties of Nigeria was approved by the Federal Government of Nigeria Companies and Allied Matters Act 0f 1990, on June 11, 2019.The Academy seeks to encourage, appreciate and promote excellence in Medical Research and Education, enhancement of human health and welfare challenges of Medicine in Nigeria. 

The Academy selected eminent and outstanding scholars who have made landmark contributions in medicine and medical specialties as foundation fellows. They were drawn from all geopolitical zones of the country and in Diaspora. Some Academic Staff of the College of Medicine, University of Lagos were elected based on their outstanding professional achievements and commitment to service on matters of significance to health. The following were conferred Foundation Fellows:

  1. Professor D. A. Oke
  2. Professor O. A. T. Ebuehi
  3. Professor F. E. A. Lesi
  4. Professor F. T. Ogunsola
  5. Professor A. O. Osibogun
  6. Professor O. A. Okanlawon
  7. Professor A. F. Banjo
  8. Professor B. B. Afolabi 
  9. Professor A. A. A. Osinubi 
  10. Professor O. A. Fasanmade
  11. Professor W. L. Adeyemo
  12. Professor O. A. Odukoya 
  13. Professor O. O. Oduyebo 
  14. Professor N. U. Okubadejo
  15. Professor F. A. Oredugba 
  16. Professor A. A. Oremosu 
  17. Dr. R. O. Oladele 

Retired CMUL Staff

  1. Professor Oladapo A. Ashiru, OFR
  2. Emeritus Professor Osato Frank Giwa-Osagie
  3. Emeritus Professor Yetunde Mercy Olumide
  4. Professor Augustine Efedayo Ohwovoriole 
  5. Professor Frank Etumiwe Okoisor
  6. Professor Onatolu Odukoya
  7. Professor Enosakhare Samuel Akpata – Emeritus Fellow 
  8. Professor Joel Oyekunle Akinosi – Emeritus Fellow
  9. Professor Jelili Adisa Akinwande
  10. Professor Olayinka Abosede

 CMUL Alumni Members

  1. The Olor’ogun (Dr.)Sunny Folorunsho Kuku,OFR 
  2. Professor Boaz Adegbon
  3. Professor Adebola O. Ogunbiyi
  4. Professor Nathaniel O. Salako 
  5. Professor Olufemi Ogunbiyi
  6. Professor Ayodele Ojuawo

The blended ceremony was held at the Radisson Blu Hotel G.R.A ikeja, Lagos State and had over 500 participants joining from different parts of the world virtually.

Also present at the ceremony were: Honorable Minister of Health, Dr. Osagie Ehanire; Honorable Minister of Education ably represented by the Vice Chancellor,University of Lagos,Professor Oluwatoyin T. Ogundipe, FAS; Honourable Minister for State of Health, Dr. Olorunnimbe Mamora; Chairman of the Academy,Olor’ogun (Dr.) Sonny F. Kuku, OFR, FAS,FAMeds; President of the Academy, Professor Oladapo A. Ashiru, OFR, FAMeds; Vice Chairman of the Academy, Emeritus Professor Osato Frank Giwa-Osagie, OON,FAMeds; Secretary of the Academy, Professor Augustine Ohwovoriole,FAMeds

The highlight of the event was the presentation of Fellowship certificates and medallions to the inductees by the Chairman, Board of Trustees and the President of the Academy.