Opening Hours : Mondays To Fridays 8:00 a.m. to 4.00 p.m.

Restorative Dentistry


The Department of Restorative Dentistry was established at the inception of the School of Dental Sciences by Late Professor John Fox-Taylor in September 1966. The department offers training to the 400 Level,500 level and 600 Level Dental students. The first set of Dentists graduated from the University of Lagos, School of Dental Sciences in 1971.  In 2009, the School of Dental Sciences was transformed into a faculty. namely the Faculty of Dental Sciences, College of Medicine of the University of Lagos. The Department also participates in the training of Postgraduate Resident Doctors preparing for the Fellowship in Dental Surgery of the National Postgraduate Medical College of Nigeria and West African College of Surgeons.

The Department consists of two major Academic units and several sub-specialties.

  1. Conservative Dentistry unit which comprises of Preclinical Operative Techniques Advanced Operative Techniques, Conservations, Endodontics, Science of Dental Materials and Aesthetic Dentistry, Implant prosthodontics
  2. Prosthetic Dentistry Unit which comprises of Preclinical Prosthetic techniques, Partial and Complete Denture techniques and Advanced Prosthodontics, Implant prosthodontics

Admission Requirements

UTME Students:

The applicant or the intending student for the Bachelor of Physiotherapy course of studies must satisfy the minimum requirements of the University of Lagos for admission. In addition, the student must have a minimum of 5 credit passes at Ordinary Level at one sitting, which must be in:

  1. Physics
  2. Chemistry
  3. Biology
  4. Mathematics
  5. English Language

Further, the candidates must have passed UTME Examinations with a score acceptable to the University Admission Policy.

Direct Entry Students:

Direct entry requirement for applicant or intending student for the Bachelor of Physiotherapy course of studies, must, in addition to the General Certificate of Education Ordinary Level’s qualification, have a higher score in the following three subjects, namely; Physics, Chemistry, Biology at the Advance Level.


TIn 2008, the Department made a landmark progress with the commencement of its long-awaited postgraduate programmes and the first set of students for Master’s degree and MPhil/ Ph.Dprogrammes were admitted during the 2008/2009 Academic session. The first set of M.Sc. postgraduate students (10 in number) completed their studies in September 2009 and were awarded M.Sc. degrees in Physiotherapy at the convocation ceremony of the University in January 2010. The department graduated its first Ph.D candidate in the 2012/2013 session while an unprecedented record was made with the graduation of four Ph.D candidates at the 2013/2014 convocation ceremony. Currently, the department has over 250 students on the Bachelor’s degree, and over 35 on the postgraduate degree programmes respectively.

Academic Staff

Courses in Department of Restorative Dentistry

View More