Opening Hours : Monday To Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4.00 p.m.


History of Anatomy

The Department of Anatomy, College of Medicine of the University of Lagos began as the
Department of Morphological Sciences on Harvey Road, Yaba, in 1962 with an intake of 28 Medical
Students and 4 members of staff. The teaching of Anatomy was extended to Dental Students in 1966,
Physiotherapy in 1971, Physiology in 1977, Pharmacy and Pharmacology in 1980 and Biomedical Engineering
in 1981. the Department was moved to its current location in 1976.

The Department currently have 13 Academic Staff with 11 other Technical and
Administrative staff. The teaching programme has been reviewed during which a number of innovative
techniques in Medical Education have been established to make the teaching of Anatomy more articulate,
meaningful and enjoyable to the students. These include the use of slide and film projectors, overhead
transparency illustration, multimedia and the introduction of living Anatomy as a preliminary to
physical examination.

The student population has increased from its beginning of 28 students. The Department
however has a compliment of well trained staff and facilities for training and research. Our expanded
scope of research are in the fields of cell/molecular biology, reproductive biology, Endocrinology and


Vision of the Department

The Department of Anatomy as an integral part of the Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences is
poised to train with the highest standards undergraduate Medical. Dental, Physiotherapy, Physiology,
and Pharmacology students in order to prepare them with a background knowledge in Human Anatomy in the
fields of Gross Anatomy, Embryology, Histology and Neuro-anatomy. The Department is about to commence a
B.Sc. programme in Anatomy to further boost the needs of the nation.

The department trains Postgraduate students at the Masters and Doctorate levels with the
relevant skills to teach the subject of Anatomy and to carry out research work resulting in good
scientific publications. These trained Anatomist will enhance the dwindling number of qualified
teachers in the subject.

It also aims to develop the staff to the highest standards for the benefit of the
students. To be ‘numero uno’ in teaching and research activities in the College as a panacea for
producing the Nations Health Care Delivery System.


Welcome note from the HOD


Academic Programme


Academic Staff

Assoc. Professor & Ag. Head

Prof. Oremosu, A. A.

M.B.,B.S., Msc.,


Okanlawon, A. O

M.B.,B.S., M.Phil., Ph.D

Assoc. Professor

Osinubi, A. A. A. (Dr.)

M.B.,B.S., MSc., Ph.D

Assoc. Professor

Duru, F. I. (Dr.)

M.B.,B.S., M.Sc., Ph.D

Senior lecturer

Ibeabuchi, N. M. (Dr.)

M.B.,B.S., M.Sc., Ph.D.

Senior lecturer

Kusemiju, T. (Mrs.)

B.Sc., (Ibadan), M.Sc., Ph.D (Lagos)

Senior lecturer

Dosumu, O. O.,

B.Sc., M.Sc., Ph.D

Senior lecturer

Yama, O. E.

M.B.,B.S. (Benin)), M.Sc., Ph.D (Lagos)

Senior lecturer

Gbotolorun S. C.

B.Sc., (Port-Harcourt)M.Sc., Ph.D(Lagos)

Lecturer 1

Olabiyi, O. (Dr.)

M.B.,B.S. (Ilorin),M.Sc., Ph.D. (Lagos)

Asst. Lecturer

Okoko, I. E.

B.Sc. (Calabar), M.Sc., Ph.D (Lagos)

Asst. Lecturer

Bakare, A. A. (Mrs.)

B.Sc., (Ilorin) M.Sc. (Lagos)

Asst. Lecturer

Medubi, L. J. B.Sc.

M.Sc. (Ilorin)


Technical Staff

Chief Technologist

Adebayo, M. (Mrs.)


Senior Technologist

Omorilewa, A.O.


Senior Lab. Superintendent

Okunlola, S. A.

Lab Superintendent

Oghei. J. A.

Lab Supervisor

Oladele, A. A.

Senior Conf. Secretary I

Ekundayo, Y. O.,


Administrative Staff


Pane h

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Aenean commodo ligula eget dolor. Aenean massa.