Opening Hours : Monday To Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4.00 p.m.


On the 9th of December, 2019 the Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria (MDCN) inducted into its membership, 104 MBBS, and 34 BDS grandaunts of the College of Medicine, University of Lagos. The Provost, Professor F.E.A. Lesi, in his speech congratulated members of Academic and Non-Academic staff, parents, families and friends of the inductees for the time and energy spent in nurturing these dynamic young men and women to be competent professionals. He urged them to change their narrative by telling their own story, to embrace their career and be a change agent for the nation. He recognised from the inductees Drs. Adebamigbe and Ejiegbu for winning first and third prize at the Junior Investigators Hatton research competition of the International Association for Dental Research (IADR) and Dr. Festus Ibe for being the first medical student to present a paper at the Annual Meeting of the Association of Nigeria Physicians in the Americas. He, therefore, advised them to join hands with other well-meaning individuals in the health sector to change the narrative about the education and healthcare sector of Nigeria. He urged them to always relate their achievements with the College through the Alumni association. 

The Vice Chancellor, Professor Oluwatoyin T. Ogundipe, FAS, who was ably represented by Professor Folashade Ogunsola, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Development Services), was full of praise to the new inductees, their parents, Academic and Non-Academic staff for producing brilliant minds for the nation. He, therefore, urged them to be great ambassadors of the Institution and remember their country issues and be charged to solve it. The College Secretary, Mr. O.A. Obafemi-Moses, FNIM in his short address gave credit to the parents, Academic and Non-Academics, for nurturing great minds. He informed the new inductees that they should be proud to have obtained the best training from the College and admonished them not give in to overwhelming tribulations but to remain focused on achieving their goals. Also present was the Chief Medical Director of Lagos University Teaching Hospital (LUTH), Professor Chris Bode, who, in his short remark, informed the new inductees that LUTH is willing to accommodate the majority of the inductees who wish to train at the hospital. He urged them to be professionals in their field and be dutiful to their jobs.

The Guest Speaker, Dr. Maxwell Ubah, the CEO Strategy house, gave a short but eye-opening speech to the new inductees. He advised them to be competent, to show empathy, be attentive and be result oriented. He also advised them to manage their careers by beginning early, taking responsibility for their position, and be committed to excellence. The Registrar MDCN, Dr. T.A.B Sanusi, anchored the Oath taking of the new inductees and also warned them running foul of the Council code of ethics and conduct.

The highlight of the induction was the recognition for Dr. E. T Aladenika (7 prizes) for being the best graduating student in the BDS programme.  Dr. O. G Adeniran (3 prizes) emerged the best graduating student in the MBBS programme. Also recognised was Dr. O. I. Amira (4 prizes) among others in the MBBS programme.  Drs. Olanrewaju Obadeyi (MBBS) and Joshua Idowu (BDS) gave the vote of thanks on behalf of the inductees. The ceremony was anchored by Professor A.A. Oremosu.

Also present were Professor S.R.A. Akinbo, Deputy Provost CMUL, representative of UNILAG Librarian,  Mr. S.A. Akinade, Director of Finance, Prof. W.L. Adeyemo, CMAC, LUTH, Prof. J.D. Adeyemi, Dean FCS, Prof. O.O. Sofola, Dean FDS, Prof. O.A. Magbagbeola, Dean FBMS, Mr. K. Owotutu, Deputy College Secretary (Academic Affairs), Prof. Ebuehi, Prof. Odeyemi,   Mr. Usifo, Principal Assistant Secretary (Results & Records) Mr. O.O. Odubunmi, Chairman Organizing Committee and Dr. Umesi, representing the Chairman CMUL Alumni Association.