Opening Hours : Mondays To Fridays 8:00 a.m. to 4.00 p.m.


The Provost, Professor David Adewale Oke met with the outgoing and newly inaugurated members of the College of Medicine, University of Lagos Health Research Ethics Committee (HREC) on Friday, May 21, 2021. The Provost expressed great satisfaction at the achievements of the CMUL HREC headed by Professor S.A. Omilabu (Chairman, CMUL HREC). He applauded the effort of the members in ensuring quality research and protection of research participants in their review of proposals for undergraduates, postgraduates and the faculty members both within the College of Medicine and across various Faculties of the University of Lagos. He reiterated that the CMUL HREC is currently recognised as the most active and proficient user of the RHinnO electronic review system and also the first institution to apply for the registration of an independent Animal Care and Use Research Ethics Committee (ACUREC) with the National Health Research Ethics Committee (HREC). He acknowledged the leadership of Professor Folasade Ogunsola for establishing  HREC in the College during her tenure as the Provost and congratulated the outgoing Chairman, Professor S. Omilabu for the wonderful coordination and selfless service to the College as the head.The Secretary of the CMUL HREC, Mr Olufemi Hodefe in his introductory remark gave a brief history of how the CMUL HREC became registered in 2015 with nine pioneer members among whom were the six-man team that was supported under the Provostship of Professor F.T. Ogunsola, to attend a MEPIN sponsored Bioethics training at Ijebu-Ode in Ogun state. The recommendations of the team according to the Secretary, gave the impetus to the establishment of the CMUL HREC. The pioneering Chairman was Prof. S.A. Omilabu while the membership was expanded to fifteen in 2017 to accommodate diversity and make it more effective. 

The new Chairman of the CMUL HREC, Prof. K.S. Oyedeji in his remark appreciated the old committee members for their selfless commitments to the mandate of the Committee over the years. He elucidated on the importance of ethics in research and submitted that it is as important as the air we breathe. Therefore, he urged the new members not to compromise their integrity in discharging their duties and encouraged them to serve more diligently. Pastor Adeleke Olulana, a non-affiliated member of the Committee, gave the closing prayer at the end of the programme. 

These are the members of the outgoing CMUL HREC, Prof. S.A. Omilabu (Chairman), Prof. K.S. Oyedeji (Vice-Chairman), Prof. E. Temiye, Prof. W. L. Adeyemo, Prof. W. Oyibo, Prof. A.O. Daramola, Prof. N.U.  Okubadejo, Barrister J. Odikpo (Legal/Non-affiliate member), Prof. A. Ademuyiwa, Prof. B.B. Afolabi, Dr M.O. Akinleye, Prof. O.G. Uti, Prof. E. Agbaje and Mr Olufemi Hodefe (Secretary).

The inaugurated members of the CMUL HREC are; Prof. K.S. Oyedeji (Chairman), Dr O.O. Odukoya (Vice-Chairman), Prof. A.O. Ademuyiwa, Dr M.O Akinleye, Dr O.O. Olatosi, Dr I.O. Ishola, Dr A.K. Akodu, Dr A.O. Ekun, Dr O.O. Dosumu, Dr O. Salako, Dr M. Ilomuanya, Dr B. Bello, Dr S. K. Okunade, Dr R.A. Adisa, Dr I. Abdul-salam, Pastor Adeleke Olulana (Legal/ Non-affiliate), Mr Olufemi Hodefe (Secretary).