Opening Hours : Mondays To Fridays 8:00 a.m. to 4.00 p.m.


The Alumni Association of the College of Medicine, University of Lagos on Wednesday, May 19, 2021, held its Annual General Meeting at the Alumni Center. The meeting was held to dissolve the existing Executive Committee, appoint an interim committee to oversee the election and ratify the appointment of the nominated Board of Trustee for the Alumni Association Endowment Fund.The Chairman of the CMUL Alumni Association, Dr. Ajibayo Adeyeye welcomed members who attended the event and those who joined virtually. He thanked the immediate past Provost, Professor Afolabi Lesi, the Immediate past Deputy Provost, Professor S. R. A. Akinbo and Professor Oladapo Ashiru, OFR. In addition, the entire College community for the encouragement and support given to the Alumni Executive throughout their four-year tenure. He implored  the Alumni within Nigeria and abroad to pay their dues to the Association to enable the incoming executives undertake projects in the College. 

A detailed account of the executives’ stewardship for the past Four years was delivered by the General Secretary, Dr U.A.C. Okafor. He also mentioned the Alumni’s achievements and the various challenges encountered during their tenure. The Treasurer, Dr. O. H. Ogunjimi also gave a concise account of the financial activities of the executive during four years. Professor S. R. A. Akinbo urged the Provost, Professor D.  A. Oke to support the Alumni Association in its quest for greatness.

The Provost in his remark, appreciated the outgoing Chairman and the entire Alumni Executive for the remarkable achievements made over the years. He was pleased with the Alumni for the the various projects executed in the College among which incude the renovation of Hostels, donation of Dental chairs and award of Ten million Naira from its endowment fund to purchase a 100KVA generator for the Administrative building and repair of the 1000KVA generator in the Students’ hostel. He also said that the University is in the process of providing accommodation for foreign exchange students. 

He advised the incoming executives to restructure the donation template by requesting that all classes should donate through their set since it is easier to reach the set platform rather than selecting individuals from a single class to avoid putting a heavy burden on them. He also assured them of his full support stating that the CMUL Alumni Association will not go into extinction.

Dr. Adeyeye sought the approval of members to ratify the Board of Trustees for the CMUL Alumni Association Endowment Fund. They are Professor D. A Oke (Provost, CMUL), Professor O. Ashiru, Chairman Board of Trustees, Dr. Sonny F. Kuku, Professor Afolabi Lesi, Dr. Ajibayo Adeyeye, Dr. Kunle Hassan, Professor M.C Isiekwe, Dr. D.C. Umesi, Dr. Bode Karunwi, Professor S.R.A. Akinbo, Dr. Olumide Aderoba, Dr. U.A.C Okafor, Professor A. Majekodunmi, Professor A.A. Oremosu, Dr Sade Disu and Professor Feyi Adegoke.

Thereafter, the Chairman dissolved the Executive Committee of the Alumni Association and set up an interim committee whose mandate is to organize an election within three to six months. The interim committee consists of Professor A. A. Oremosu, Chairman, Dr. U.A.C Okafor and Dr. O. H. Ogunjimi.

The Interim Chairman, Professor Oremosu appreciated the outgoing executive for the numerous projects executed through the CMUL Alumni association. He assured that the committee will fulfil its obligation by conducting a free and fair election which will usher in members who have shown great character, charisma and competence.  Dr. Isaac Akinola of the 2013 Set said the closing prayer.