The Association of Science Laboratory Technologists of Nigeria (ALSTON) held its 6th Biennial Professional Lecture and 7th Anniversary on Thursday, July 27, 2023, at the Alumni Centre, College of Medicine, University of Lagos, Idi-Araba.

In her welcome speech, the Branch Chairperson of ALSTON, Mrs. Afolabi, Tosin Folashade, welcomed everyone to the occasion and noted that the professional lecture had played host to distinguished personalities in the last five years who had positively influenced the members and believed that the 2023 edition will achieve more.

Mrs. Afolabi also acknowledged the support of the College of Medicine Management for its members through sponsorship of trainings, workshops, and conferences and hoped for more.

The Provost, Professor Adewale Oke, FAMedS who was ably represented by Professor Mary Niemogha of the Department of Medical Laboratory Science, commended the ALSTON Idi-Araba branch for organizing the Biennial Professional lecture, which she believed would enhance professional knowledge and increase capacity building among members.

She also appreciated the Branch for its welfare service to its members and charged them to do more to improve themselves academically and professionally, go into research collaborations, and attend more trainings to be abreast of the latest innovations in laboratory technology.

The Director General of the Nigeria Institute of Science Laboratory Science Technologists, Dr. Yemi Gbadegesin, and the ALSTON Idi-Araba branch executive had earlier paid a courtesy visit to the Provost, Professor Adewale Oke, FAMeds, and other members of the College of Medicine management where matters of mutual interest were discussed.

In attendance were the Vice-Chancellor, ably represented by Dr. Rita Oladele; Deputy Provost, Professor O.A.T. Ebuehi, Director of College Engineering Service; Engr. O. Oloyede, Mr. Omorilewa Ayotunde; Mr. Usman Abdulrahman, Mr. Samuel Adeshina, Mr. Dike Simeon, Miss. Adejoke Odumeru, other members of ALSTON, invited dignitaries and members of staff and students of the College of Medicine.