The College of Medicine, University of Lagos on Wednesday, May 8, 2019 organized the 4th induction and special award ceremony for its graduates at the Old Great Hall. The College Secretary, Mr. O. A. Obafemi-Moses, who gave the opening remarks, welcomed and congratulated the inductees and their families. He advised them to be worthy ambassadors of the College of Medicine and continue to work harder. He reminded them that though they are leaving the institution, the institution will not be leaving them as they will be monitoring their progress across all social media platforms.

The Provost, Professor F.E.A. Lesi in his speech congratulated all the inductees, particularly Five (5) of them that made distinctions. He appreciated their lecturers for their efforts in nurturing those being inducted and also thanked Afriglobal Medicare Limited for offering an award to the best graduating student.

He encouraged them to love their work and be self-disciplined and persistent. He enjoined them to leave their contact details with the Alumni Centre to allow the institution keep tab on them and celebrate their achievements. The Dean, Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences, Professor O.A. Magbagbeola who was represented by Professor Oluyemi Akinloye, congratulated the inductees and their Lecturers and he advised them to continue making the institution proud.

The Registrar of the Medical Laboratory Science of Nigeria, Mr. Tosan Erhabor, who was represented by Mr. Gregory Ochonu led the inductees in taking their Professional Oath.

The Guest Speaker, Dr. Olusola Okhiria, a former Deputy Commissioner of Police in the Department of Police Medical Laboratory Services, congratulated the inductees and University Management for maintaining enviable academic standards over the years. She spoke on: “Harnessing the External Genes of Medical Scientist in National Development” and she listed various specialties in Medical Laboratory Science that the inductees can pursue and skills that they can learn. She further encouraged them to cultivate the right and positive attitude to work.

The Provost afterward presented a plaque to Adelakun John Oluwagbenga, the overall best graduating student. The best graduating student gave the vote of thanks on behalf of his colleagues.

On behalf of the Management, Staff and Students, we congratulate the inductees and wish them success in their future endeavours

Comments are closed.